Thursday, November 30, 2017

Christmas at Mistletoe Cove by Holly Martin

What They Say......Christmas has arrived at Hope Island, promising snowflakes, surprises and plenty of seasonal joy. So snuggle up and fall in love at Mistletoe Cove …

Growing up on Hope Island, Eden Lancaster always believed that if you wished hard enough for something, dreams really could come true. But Eden’s greatest wish is also her biggest secret: she has been completely in love with her childhood friend, the charming and attractive Dougie Harrison, for as long as she can remember. And he has no idea. 

When Dougie leaves his successful life in New York to return home to Hope Island for good, Eden can’t escape her feelings. Her heart is full of hope that her romantic dreams are finally, at long last, going to come true…

This Christmas could change everything. But can a lifelong friendship really turn into the perfect romance? And will Eden get the happily ever after she’s always wished for?

Christmas at Mistletoe Cove is like a warm hug on a cold winter’s day. The perfect treat this Christmas for fans of Debbie Johnson, Cathy Bramley and Miranda Dickinson.

What I Say.....This is the third book in the Hope Island series and I have loved all three.  I know that a lot of people sneer at chick lit type books, but for me they are mind clearing.  I have recently read two serious books, and sometimes I just want to read a happy book.  Holly Martin's books are always comforting and relaxing to read.

Eden is a successful business woman, and her family is near and dear to her.  But her heart went to America with Dougie, although she never let him know.  These were small characters in the previous books, so it's so cool to start reading about their thoughts and daily lives because you haven't paid them a lot of attention before.

Dougie is coming back to Hope Island to start another business with his buddy, although he keeps saying there is something else that brought him back.  

Eden is thrilled but can't even entertain the idea that she might be what brought him back.  Her self-esteem is so low that she actually believes that magic is what is bringing them together.  She begins trying to "break the spell" because if she can't have him without magic, she doesn't want him at all.  We really can be our own worst enemies!

No comments:

Post a Comment