Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances by Sue Watson




What They Say.....Escape to Devon for blustery walks along the beach, hot chocolate with extra marshmallows and proof that miracles really do happen, especially at Christmas. 

A year after she separated from her husband, Gianni, on Christmas Day, Chloe’s heart is still in pieces as she unpacks the decorations for her first ever festive holiday alone. That is, until the phone rings…

It seems Gianni’s new seaside restaurant is in trouble and Chloe must go to Appledore to save the business – and him. Equally famous for his experimental culinary extravaganzas and his explosive temper, Gianni has been really stirring up a sensation with the locals – and not in a good way! 

As pans fly and the temperature in the kitchen rises, Chloe’s calming influence and magic touch might just get critics back on side in time to save the restaurant from sinking like a sad soufflé. But will it be enough to save their marriage? 

Chloe came to Appledore in search of her Christmas sparkle, but when the snow clears, will she finally find the way back to her husband’s heart?

A laugh-out-loud festive treat that will give you the tingle of freshly-hung tinsel. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson. 

What I Say.....This books starts out on a somber note.  Chloe is trying to start her life over after her marriage breaks up.  She is a publicist with a specialty around food and restaurants, which is how she met her husband.  But as his career grew, she felt like she was left behind.
Once they started to experience fertility issues and repeated miscarriages, their marriage really fell apart. What I liked about the story is that they helped you see the story from both sides, via Chloe's insights, but that made it a little frustrating that it took her so long to see that her husband was hurting as badly as she was.
However, now Gianni's new restaurant is a bit of a disaster, as he is trying to bring high class micro food to a sleepy seaside town.  And he's too stubborn to listen to anyone, except maybe Chloe.
Spoiler alert, they save the restaurant and their marriage - that's what makes it the perfect Christmas book!




 photo signature_zpsc91ef999.png

1 comment:

  1. Withdrawals by way of e-wallet are processed within 12 hours, which is above common. Pari Match provides an excellent range of over 8,000 games from 100+ software program providers. You can find all the latest releases here, properly as|in addition to} some older classics. You begin to imagine you're be} due for an enormous win, and you could get all of your money back should you just put some extra money in. As soon you’re beginning to have thoughts of “If I just play a little longer...” 더킹카지노 cease immediately.

    ReplyDelete