Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is part of a book blog link up where you show the book that you are anxiously waiting to be released.
Today was a great Waiting on Wednesday for me, because I got an email this morning that I am receiving an advanced copy for review of a book that I have been waiting for!!
I felt like I hit the jackpot - I'm such a sucker for a ARC book!

"For fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Adriana Trigiani, The Dress Shop of Dreams is a captivating novel of enduring hopes, second chances, and the life-changing magic of true love.

Since her parents’ mysterious deaths many years ago, scientist Cora Sparks has spent her days in the safety of her university lab or at her grandmother Etta’s dress shop. Tucked away on a winding Cambridge street, Etta’s charming tiny store appears quite ordinary to passersby, but the colorfully vibrant racks of beaded silks, delicate laces, and jewel-toned velvets hold bewitching secrets: With just a few stitches from Etta’s needle, these gorgeous gowns have the power to free a woman’s deepest desires.

Etta’s dearest wish is to work her magic on her granddaughter. Cora’s studious, unromantic eye has overlooked Walt, the shy bookseller who has been in love with her forever. Determined not to allow Cora to miss her chance at happiness, Etta sews a tiny stitch into Walt’s collar, hoping to give him the courage to confess his feelings to Cora. But magic spells—like true love—can go awry. After Walt is spurred into action, Etta realizes she’s set in motion a series of astonishing events that will transform Cora’s life in extraordinary and unexpected ways."

They had me at Alice Hoffman and Sarah Addison Allen......magical realism, a post for another day....

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive